Navigation Menu+

Hallucinating Anxiety




In a primitive state of complexity resembling musically educated grindcore, the first album from Cadaver is a death metal hybrid with black metal in the style of Merciless or early Mayhem bearing influences of grinding death of the oldest school (Asphyx, Obituary) integrated into its stream of consciousness with the deft tremolo strumming popularized by the Swedes. For this time, this album was ahead of the curve with harsh open-throated vocals in contrast to the guttural thunder of most death metal, and attempted a complexity of interlocking structures in evenly-distributed linear patterns that rivals that of Neurosis for schizophrenic logic. Interestingly, guitars create tempo over constant drums as the basis of technique, calling to mind the offbeat sliding tones of later black metal. While these musicians introduced many innovations and influenced others no doubt to a great degree, their music remains placed behind its stylistic creation because of prevalent characteristics that anchor it firmly in the old school, but these are unobtrusive to listeners from that genre. Churning riffs and familiar patterns kept this album competitive with the death metal of its day, yet its experimental and more morbid side made it distinctive at the time for its eccentric aggression.

– Ray Prozak


01 Tuba (intro)
02 Ignominious Eczema
03 Corrosive Delirium – mp3
04 Hallucinating Anxiety
05 Cannibalistic Dissection
06 Petrifyed Faces
07 Innominate
08 Twisted Collapse
09 Abnormal Deformity
10 Maelstrom
11 Mental Abherrance
12 Bodily Trauma

Line Up

Anders Odden – guitar
Ole Bjerkebakke – drums and vocals
Renè Jansen – bass

Album Info

Recorded at Kællen studios, Torp, November 1989 and January 1990
Released by Necrosis/Earache Records, 1990